DMS SuiteMARKETING AUTOMATION

返回

三大重要策略助電子商務業務轉型 並為未來作好準備

文章

社交距離及封鎖措施已嚴重影響企業營商及消費者生活的模式,疫情令消費者轉向網上消費,即使日後一切回復正常,已改變的習慣也不會消失。

事實上,這場危機已令許多大膽的企業大舉投資網上渠道,而具備合適轉型策略的經營者有機會成為市場領導者。在今期「Master Report」,XGATE探討建立「無頭商務」架構的三種策略,助企業為未來的嶄新電子商務環境作好準備。

零售品牌正不斷探索嶄新的網上商店策略,面對不斷提高的顧客期望,電子商務經營者的當務之急,是要了解可能遇到的潛在難題。當下眾多的選擇已將消費者「寵壞」,他們可以在從「被吸引」到「選擇購買」這個過程中精挑細選,這無疑使得數字化線上業務競爭空前激烈。即使電子商務發展較成熟的企業,現時也面臨具挑戰的難題—如何吸引合適的潛在顧客消費、如何留住顧客、以及如何降低不斷上升的獲取顧客成本。為迎接電子商務的未來,企業必須建立一個涵蓋以下特質的無縫數碼旅程:

1. 能夠快速部署的無頭商務架構
隨著付費媒體成本上升,加上市場競爭加劇,制定有效的內容策略來吸引自然流量變得十分重要。各大社交平台的品牌已採取這種內容及商務策略,例如Facebook Shops、Instagram Shopping、Taobao Live及小紅書等。
然而,許多零售商正採取將前端店面與後端電子商務功能脫鉤的無頭商務架構,品牌可藉此將內容管理、顧客檔案管理、忠誠度管理、訂單管理、倉庫管理、甚至aPOS等不同系統與電子商務平台結合,從而選擇最佳效能的架構。以下圖表概述如何連接以API為基礎的無頭商務架構,以支援內容發布、忠誠度營銷及商務營運。
API-first headless commerce architecture

品牌可運用無頭商務架構迅速推行電子商務,無須花費數月,幾天便可開設一家新網上商店。在競爭激烈的全球市場,上市時間一向是致勝關鍵。一項業務的成敗,取決於市場推廣人員能否將推出廣告宣傳的時間從數星期縮短至數日。此外,品牌亦可迅速有效地分享數碼內容,有助進一步在不同接觸點上,包括漸進式網絡應用程式、原生應用程式、會員網站、社交應用程式及任何智能設備,發布產品、產品宣傳片及社交帖文。

2. 全渠道零售體驗
流動科技及社交媒體應用已改變消費者與品牌互動的方式。隨著線上線下體驗相融合,消費者在整個購物旅程中將透過多個接觸點與品牌聯繫,因此品牌需要採取全渠道零售策略,當顧客瀏覽、進行研究、甚至購物時,產品都必須無處不在。

管理大量線上線下銷售渠道涉及大量資源規劃,經已是一項艱鉅的任務,更遑論要管理那些渠道的產品庫存。從顧客體驗及營運開支角度來看,庫存不足或存貨過多的情況均會造成沉重的後果。因此,部署完善整合訂單管理系統(OMS)及倉庫管理系統(WMS)的商務架構,對支援電子商務、ERP及POS系統非常重要。

全渠道解決方案須確保所有平台的數據流保持一致、整合來自所有渠道的數據、在每個可能的接觸點聯繫顧客、並幫助有效管理庫存。事實上,未來的商務解決方案應將每個接觸點的用戶體驗納入為一項重點設計。相反,與傳統零售及網上商店相比,缺乏以顧客為先的系統架構,是由於所設計的解決方案只著眼於不斷優化各個渠道,而沒有考慮整體顧客體驗。

3. 忠誠度策略配合個人化生命週期營銷
電子商務的激烈競爭導致品牌的平均獲取顧客成本不斷上升。從「光棍節」或「黑色星期五」期間的促銷大減價、到網紅營銷推廣的成本不斷上升,市場推廣人員正逐步改變其商務策略,加大對建立顧客忠誠度的投資。

個人化通訊是品牌進行忠誠度營銷的一個常用手法。在顧客生命週期的各個階段,顧客會收到歡迎訊息、生日祝賀、積分或會藉到期提醒、預購邀請、獨家折扣、甚至是包裝小禮物。

由於後端系統已記錄消費者的購物數據,因此設計個人化購物體驗,並不如「購買X的人亦會購買Y」一樣。因此,最重要是運用那些數據令內容管理系統、手機應用程式及社交渠道變得個人化。在不同的接觸點上,品牌可以向忠實顧客送上小福利。

品牌亦可在電子商務專頁上宣傳額外優惠,例如消費一定金額後免費送貨,或者為VIP會員提供專人客戶服務,讓他們可經電話、短訊或通訊軟件直接聯繫。在購買過程中,透過各個接觸點提供一致的體驗取悅顧客。

嶄新電子商務時代經已來臨
企業投身電子商務的最大理由之一,是要避免因瞬息萬變的零售業務環境而陷入困境(尤其在新冠疫情期間)。不同企業目前正處於不同電子商務發展階段,一些早起步的經營者正成為其行業的主流網上企業,例如化妝品行業的Sephora、電子產品行業的蘇寧、或者家居裝飾產品行業的家得寶。

隨著愈來愈多人以新方式在各種接觸點上發掘產品資訊、閱讀評論及下訂單,電子商務的未來經已來臨。嶄新與成熟的網上品牌現正處於交匯點,評估能真正幫助業務變得靈活的可持續發展業務策略及電子商務平台選擇。因此,品牌必須轉向無頭商務架構,以支援全渠道(線上及線下)零售營銷、打造個人化體驗、留住忠實顧客、並保持長遠競爭優勢。

零售數碼化轉型:從商店到全渠道
全渠道零售無須品牌無處不在,品牌只須出現在顧客所在之處。全渠道零售的最終目標,是通過在所有渠道或接觸點上提供統一的購物體驗,以建立一套綜合營商方式。

主要業務挑戰:
• 零售銷售疲弱 — 新冠疫情及封鎖措施對零售銷售造成打擊,尤其是奢侈品。
• 消費者行為轉變 — 經濟低迷令消費者選擇價格較低的高質素高檔品牌。

為應對這些挑戰,D&G採取電子商務策略,通過不同接觸點為消費者提供商店購物體驗,同時提升零售人員為網上顧客提供客戶服務的能力。
為提供獨特無縫的店內及網上購物體驗,品牌以無頭商務架構為基礎,圍繞微信的核心功能開發三款小程序以滿足不同需求:
1. 電子商務 — 用於網上銷售活動
2. 會員中心 — 供顧客查看交易記錄、會員狀態、以及電子商務鏈結
3. 顧客服務 — 供零售人員管理銷售商機、將顧客連接到電子商務平台、並追蹤銷售業績.

此外,D&G亦開設一家360度虛擬商店,當中提供網上商店的鏈結。

該數碼化策略能夠提供全渠道顧客體驗,有助留住顧客及提高銷售額,改變零售業務的營運方式。銷售人員可在零售店使用顧客服務功能提升電子商務平台的銷售流量,數月內令新潛在顧客增加超過95%,電子商務電商小程序的銷售額增加超過13%,品牌的顧客留存率亦保持在40%以上的健康水平。事實上,D&G已成功運用科技創新來打造無縫的顧客體驗,並有效提高業務盈利。

This post has been written by Xen Chia from XGATE under the Master Report series of Marketing Magazine, published in the January 2021 issue.

DMS SuiteMARKETING AUTOMATION

Back

Three important strategies to transform and future proof your e-commerce business

Article

Social distancing measures and lockdowns have resulted in a serious impact on businesses and consumer lifestyle. The pandemic has shifted consumer spending towards online e-commerce and this shift is not going away even after things get back to normal. Indeed, the crisis has led many bold companies to invest ambitiously into online channels and those with the right transformation strategy are likely to emerge as market leaders.

In this Master Report, XGATE proposes looking into three strategies to build a “headless commerce” architecture that will future-proof businesses as they dive into the new e-commerce reality.

As retail brands explore new online store strategies, it is imperative to understand the potential hurdles that e-commerce players may encounter when facing enhancing customer expectations.

Consumers are spoilt for choices, making the competition in digital online business fiercer than ever. Consumers can afford to be choosy in which brands receive their attention and then their business. Even companies with mature e-commerce capabilities today are facing challenging hurdles – capturing the right leads for conversions, retaining customers and rising customer acquisition cost. Hence, if the future of e-commerce is now, then companies must create a frictionless digital journey that comprises the following attributes:

1. A headless commerce architecture for rapid deployment
With paid media costs rising along with market competition, having a robust content strategy to attract organic traffic becomes vital. This strategy of content and commerce has been adopted by brands across social platforms such as Facebook Shops, Instagram Shopping, Taobao Live and Little Red Book, to name a few.

However, many retailers are adopting headless commerce architecture by decoupling the storefront from the backend e-commerce functionality. This approach allows brands to choose the best breed of architectural performance by integrating different systems such as content management, customer profile management, loyalty management, order management, warehouse management or even aPOS with an e-commerce platform. Here’s an overview diagram of how API-first headless commerce architecture is connected to support content distribution, loyalty marketing and commerce operations.

API-first headless commerce architecture

With headless commerce architecture, brands can launch e-commerce rapidly. A new online shop can be set up in days instead of months. In a competitive global market, timeto-market is always a key winning formula. Marketers’ ability to launch a campaign from weeks to days can determine the success or failure of a business. Additionally, brands can also share digital content rapidly and effectively. This truly opens up new possibilities to further distribute products, product videos, social blogs to different touchpoints – progressive web app, native app, member portal, social apps and any smart devices.

2. An omni-channel retail experience
Mobile technologies and social media adoption have changed the way consumers engage with brands. With the online and offline experience converging, brands need to adopt an omni-channel retail strategy as consumers will connect with a brand across multiple touchpoints throughout their buying journey. This means the product has to be everywhere when your customers browse, research or even buy.

Managing a multitude of selling channels online and offline is already a massive task requiring lots of resource planning, not to mention managing inventory across those channels. The implications for an out-of-stock situation or overstock position are costly from customer experience and operational expense perspectives. Hence, deploying commerce architecture with a well-integrated modular order management system (OMS) and warehouse management system (WMS) is essential in supporting e-commerce, ERPs and POS.

The omni-channel solution needs to ensure dataflow consistency across all platforms, consolidate data from all channels, reach customers at every possible touchpoint, and help manage inventory effectively. In fact, future approaches to commerce should incorporate user experience at every touchpoint as a critical solution design. Conversely, in comparison to traditional retail and online stores, the lack of a customer-first system architecture is the result of building solutions where individual channels were optimised continuously without considering the whole customer experience.

3. A loyalty strategy with personalised lifecycle marketing
The fierce competition for e-commerce has led to rising average acquisition cost for brands. From aggressive price-slashing during the Singles’ Day or Black Friday to the rising cost of influencer marketing campaigns, marketers are progressively changing their business strategies to invest more in building customer loyalty.

As brands implement loyalty marketing, one simple tactic is personalised communication. At various stages of a customer lifecycle, customers could be receiving welcome messages, birthday greetings, a reminder for points or membership expiry, pre-order invitations, private sales and even a small gift in shipped packages.

Creating a personalised shopping experience is more than the usual “people who bought X also purchased Y”. The backend systems have data on what a consumer has bought. Hence, it is important to use those data to power the personalisation engines on CMS, mobile apps and social channels. At different touchpoints, brands can reward loyal customers with small benefits. They can also highlight those extra benefits on the e-commerce page, such as free delivery after a certain spending amount or a personalised customer service contact for VIPs where they can reach out via telephone, SMS or where they can reach out via telephone, SMS or chat. Ultimately, the idea is to delight customers by delivering a consistent experience across touchpoints at critical moments in their journey.

The new e-commerce is here
One of the most compelling reasons for companies to embark into e-commerce is to avoid being caught up in a paradigm shift when retail business changes rapidly (especially during the COVID-19 pandemic). Today, different companies are in various stages of e-commerce maturity and some early adopters are already becoming mainstream online businesses in their industries – like Sephora in cosmetics, Suning.com in electronics or The Home Depot in home improvement products.

The future of commerce is already here as more people engage in new ways to explore product information, read reviews and place orders through various touchpoints. Today, new and mature online brands are meeting at across junction to evaluate a sustainable business strategy and choice of e-commerce platforms that offer true business agility. Therefore brands must make the switch to headless commerce architecture to support omni-channel (online and offline) retail marketing, create personalised experiences, retain customers with loyalty and remain competitive beyond the present.

Retail digital transformation from in-store to omnichannel
Omnichannel retail doesn’t require brands to Omnichannel retail doesn’t require brands to be present everywhere, just everywhere your customers are. Ultimately, the business goal is to create an integrated approach to commerce by providing a unified shopping experience across all channels or touchpoints.

Key business challenges:
• Weak retail sales – COVID-19 pandemic and lockdown have impacted retail sales, particularly luxury goods.
• The consumer behaviour shift – The slow economy has caused consumers to go for lower-priced premium brands that offer comparable quality without the high price tag. To address the challenges, D&G adopted an e-commerce strategy to bring the store experience to the consumers across touchpoints, while enhancing retail sales competence to provide customer service for online shoppers.

To deliver a unique seamless in-store and online shopping experience, they adopted headless commerce architecture as the foundation and developed mini-programmes around WeChat core functions. Three mini programmes were developed to serve different purposes:
1. E-commerce – for online sales activities
2. Member centre – for customers to check their transaction history, membership status and link to e-commerce
3. Clientelling – for retail sales to manage sales opportunities, connect customers toe-commerce and track sales performance. Additionally, D&G also developed a 360 degree virtual store with links to the online store.

The digital strategy has transformed retail operations to deliver omnichannel customer experience with high retention and sales conversion. At the retail stores, sales associates using clientelling were able to drive sales traffic into e-commerce and generated over 95%of new leads in a few months. The leads to sales conversions in the e-commerce mini programme have increased by over 13% and the brand was able to keep a healthy customer retention rate well above 40%. Indeed, D&G has successfully leveraged technology innovations to create a seamless customer experience and drive business profitability.

This post has been written by Xen Chia from XGATE under the Master Report series of Marketing Magazine, published in the January 2021 issue.